Almond Meal Adventures

LA is unlike any other place. There is such a variety of people, places, and personalities, that it’s difficult to define. Yet there is one ongoing culture and lifestyle that I’ve been a part of since I drove my Midwestern self to the West Coast. People are obsessed with health and fitness. Working out and eating right are part of the territory. Call it vain if you want, because there are many of those people here, but I’ve never seen a culture care so much about where their food is coming from, how it is prepared, and making sure they burn it off right.

Okay, so I have a skewed point of view. I worked for lululemon athletica, am familiar with almost every yoga, spin, pilates, barre, dance, and TRX class in the area, and have organized community fitness events. Not to mention my boyfriend owns Golden State CrossFit (www.goldenstatecrossfit.com), which is part of the most dynamic, influential, team-oriented workout community in the country (shameless plug). I must admit— I absolutely love it here. Where else can you find warm, sunny weather, and so many people eating healthy and getting their sweat on?

So I’ve been thinking of ways to contribute, while still staying true to my own passions. I love baking all-natural, butter, flour, and sugar desserts. No cutting corners or calories. But what about baking something delicious AND healthy?

Here’s where Almond Meal (or Almond Flour) comes in.

I’ve set out to make a fresh, delicious, gluten-free, protein packed, Paleo-friendly snack/quick breakfast. And I think I’ve done it. I got a little help from Tia at glugleglutenfree.com, so thanks for the inspiration! I substituted some ingredients for some all-natural, organic choices. A trip to both Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods got me everything I need.

To Your Health!

Gluten-Free, Apple Cinnamon Spice Muffins

Dry Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Almond Meal
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • ½ tsp Sea Salt
  • 1 tbsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Nutmeg

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 Apple (peeled, cored, and chopped)
  • ½ cup Applesauce
  • 3 Eggs
  • ¼ cup Coconut Oil, melted
  • ½ cup Light Agave Nectar

Crumble Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Almond Flour
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp Agave Nectar
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F or 325° F for a dark pan.
  2. Insert cupcake liners to your cupcake tin. (Recommended: Tin Foil liners, the coconut oil gets too greasy for paper only)
  3. Mix dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. Get out all of the lumps with wire whisk.
  4. Mix wet ingredients together in large mixing bowl.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredient bowl. Mix well.
  6. Mix Crumble ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.
  7. Pour muffin batter into the muffin papers. It should make about 13 muffins.
  8. Spoon the crumble on top of each muffin. (You will have a lot of crumble, so use as much as is your taste.)
  9. Pat crumble into muffin batter slightly.
  10. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Done when toothpick comes out clean.
Got my goodies…

Image

Image

Ready to pour…

Image

Image

Image

The finished product!

Image

6 thoughts on “Almond Meal Adventures

  1. Reblogged this on WellEvolvEdU and commented:
    I have not posted a recipe prior to this, but I could not help sharing this Almond Meal Adventure posted by Bites and Writes. What first caught my eye were some healthy ingredients. Just look at the image. Now the writer is a Midwesterner, so I am sure she blends her baking expertise(just kidding) with some “down home” West Coast Health Food. Please read on and tell me what you think, and how it tasted. I give it 5 STARS.

Happy thoughts.

